Manila, Philippines, April 27, 2016 – The Philippines’ Foton squad landed on a light group following the drawing of lots for the 2016 Asian Women’s Club Volleyball Championship at the Foton showroom on Wednesday.

The Foton Tornadoes – the reigning Philippine Superliga (PSL) Grand Prix champion – fell in Pool A together with Hong Kong and Vietnam in the prestigious continental club tournament, which is slated on September 3 to 11.
Southeast Asian powerhouses Thailand are in Pool B together with DPR Korea and Iran, while Japan joined Kazakhstan and Indonesia in Pool C.
Meanwhile, Pool D are composed of China, Chinese Taipei, Malaysia and Turkmenistan.
“We like where we landed,” Foton team manager Alvin Lu said after the brief ceremony graced by AVC Sports Events Council secretary Jaksuwan Tocharoen, AVC Marketing and Development Committee chairman Ramon Suzara and Larong Volleyball saPilipinas president Jose Romasanta.
“With this, we can now start our preparation for the tough grind ahead. We will complete our lineup next week and schedule our international training, probably in Thailand, very soon. We want to have an early preparation and we’re looking to assemble a very strong and fighting team. Hopefully, we can land in the top four.”
Romasanta said he is satisfied with the outcome of the drawing of lots and hopes that a successful participation will pave the way for the resurgence of Philippine volleyball in the international level.
“The LVPI is very glad to entrust the hosting and organization of this prestigious event to the Philippine Superliga,” Romasanta said, adding that the PSL has the technical know-how to organize the tourney for being the only club league in the country. “We’re looking forward to a very successful participation and organization to finally put the Philippines back in the international volleyball map.”
Last year, Bangkok Glass VC of Thailand captured the title at Ha Nam, Vietnam, defeating Hisamitsu Springs of Japan in the gold medal match, while Zhejiang of China trounced Chinese Taipei’s Taiwan Power in the bronze medal match.